BIG Summer of Wellness Series

Date and Time: 
Monday, June 21, 2021 - 11:00am to 12:30pm
BTAA

B1G Global Summer of Wellness Kick-Off Event

Kick off your summer by engaging with students around the world in the B1G Global Summer of Wellness Program! This program is a fun way for you to stay healthy, learn how to establish better habits, practice self-care, share snippets of your summer experiences, and network with students from other B1G schools. Join us at our kick-off event on Tuesday, June 1st, 7pm ET/6pm CT, to learn about all the exciting activities we have planned for you for this summer, including a pet event, a bingo game, a scavenger hunt, a film screening, an art class, and more! Remember to register for the kick-off event here.

Here is the calendar of events for the B1G Summer of Wellness program (registration links and more information to be added as they become available):

  • Kick-off event: Tuesday, 6/1, 7pm ET
  • PAWS (Pet Away Worry and Stress) event: week of June 7
  • Screening of Rafiki: Thursday, 6/15, 7pm ET/6pm CT
  • Art Therapy: week of 6/21 
  • Closing event: Sunday, 8/8

Students who are interested in competing in the Bingo Card can find a copy of it attached. For detailed instructions, visit go.unl.edu/b1gglobalsummerbingo

Pet Away Worry and Stress

Wednesday, June 9, 9:45am - 11:35am CT / 10:45am - 12:35pm ET

Registration: z.umn.edu/issspaws21

Join us for some time with the PAWS family. Relax and chat with other animal enthusiasts as you watch the furry and fluffy PAWS professionals play, investigate or just relax along with you.

Art Class with Wes

Monday, June 21, 10am - 11:30am CT / 11am - 12:30pm ET

Registration: go.rutgers.edu/ArtClass

Join us for a still life sketch lesson with artist Wes Sherman. Bring a pencil or other writing/drawing instrument, an eraser, and some paper. No art or drawing experience is necessary. Just come have fun and create a piece of art with us! The final ten minutes of this event will be spent taking part in a guided, stress-relieving mediation exercise.

Artist and curator Wes Sherman has been involved in the arts since 1992. He received his MFA from the Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers University in 2003. He is an adjunct professor of studio arts at William Patterson University and Raritan Valley College, and the chair of exhibitions at the Center for Contemporary Art in Bedminster, New Jersey. Sherman has been a visiting artist at many universities among them Temple, Rutgers, and the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts. In 2011, he also received a fellowship for painting from the New Jersey Council of the Arts.