New Country-based Restrictions Announced

(Jan 31, 2020) Today the White House Administration announced a suspension of the overseas issuance of immigrant visas for certain nationals of Burma (Myanmar), Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, and Nigeria; and will disallow Diversity Visa Lottery participation for Sudan and Tanzania. 

According to this White House article, “The new restrictions will not apply to tourist, business, or other nonimmigrant travel.”  As such, the International Center does not currently anticipate an impact on international students and scholars.  We will continue to monitor the situation and directly contact any international students, scholars, or employees who may be impacted as new information comes to light.